Chill? I will not be chilling at your house!

This is not your traditional grad life post, but rather just an observation that was prompted by a whats app message.

They say today we live in a hook up culture, one where 2 or three whats app conversation or a good stare up in a bar leaves you doing the walk of shame Sunday morning. Mind you, if that is your thing then that is ok, hook ups become almost everyone’s thing one point in their life.

Anyway, my rant really is about this chill culture. I am going to describe a real situation below, one that has happened personally, one that actually happened today this faithful Sunday Mawning!

So I met this guy at a Caribbean type party, he asked for my number no harm done I gave it to him. He messaged me, mostly small talk conversation and not at all often. To be honest, he became the random guy on your whats app that says hello and checks in now and again.

Anyways today he says hello, asked me what I was up to, to which I disclosed I was going to a comedy club, he asked which one and I told him. Below is the conversation after that:

Guy: Oh cool! What you doing after that, wanna come chill at mine, I live close to that comedy club.

Me: I have work in the morning. So I would have to pass on that one.

Guy: So when are we gonna chill sometime!

Me: I dno, to be fair I’m not a go to someone’s house and chill type of person. But you can meet me for coffee at an opportune time.

Guy: lol, that’s long! but okay we’ll see!

Guy: πŸ˜€

Now let’s discuss my issues with this. Even though we have had about 5 short conversations does not mean I know you well enough to come and chill in the evening time at your house. You could be a cold blood criminal for all I know. My mama never grow me to be a fool. Further more back home we were taught not to love to go to people’s yards!

Next thing now if you want to get to know me that will be done in an outside atmospere away from your personal space. Then you want to say that going to a coffee shop is too long… well in my eyes legging it to a strangers house at 9 pm at night is a bit too long for me too.

Some of these young men are lazy beyond belief. Honestly that is why a lot of these relationships are so superficial.

That is why so many people leave 2 year relationships only knowing the four walls of their man’s yard, their favourite papa johns pizza and the fact that they like watching Family Guy on a Sunday and he only knows the cavity of the young lady’s walls.

Mind you nothing is wrong with chilling, not everyday you will be in the mood or have the time to be outside the house, but I would leave that to people who know each other for a while.

What are your thoughts, am I just old fashioned?

Mx

6 thoughts on “Chill? I will not be chilling at your house!

  1. hey Gorgeous…love ur posts…and i do not…i repeat…do not believe ur old fashioned…i just think u are very much well principled and u brilliant beyond words.
    ive had that same problem and uve inspired me to write about it..thanks.

    but seriously no sah..what i reaiise now is that they never wana say “lets go out” the only word in their vocab is “come” because thats the only thing they wana do in the first place

    Like

    1. Thanks for the love Latainia πŸ™‚ It just has become so common nowadays and very much the norm…had to question whether I am weird hehe. Glad that my post could inspire you to write about it, can’t wait to read it when you publish πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. You definitely aren’t old fashioned! I mean, if you go to his house the first time you meet him then you’re just setting the standard for when you meet him in the future. (Optimism). I mean, I love my house so I can get the appeal of having someone come over, but at 9pm seems like nothing but a booty call…or just a set up for something weird to happen haha. I love going for coffee because 1) I love coffee and 2) You can always figure out their vibe within minutes…and if they’re a creepy axe murderer then you have a cup of hot coffee to throw at them. Problem solved.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exactly! I have gone over to someone’s house before, but it was just as a friend and it was in the middle of the day haha. Well, the hot coffee part is true! I’ve never had to do it myself, but I’m sure that I would be glad to have a cup of scalding hot coffee if the moment ever arises!

        Like

Leave a comment